Last week there were positive steps on several issues Nebraska IPL has been supporting.

First, LB 283 was advanced from the Executive Committee for consideration by the entire Legislature. LB 283 would create a State Climate Action Plan. The University of Nebraska would be given the task of putting together a climate action plan for the state.

On Friday, Senator McCollister named LB 283 as his priority bill, which means the bill will at least be debated by the Legislature. This is a positive step. However, we expect there will be resistance from climate deniers in the Legislature. We encourage you to contact your senator and ask him or her to support LB 283 as a positive step in addressing the causes and impacts of the climate crisis.

Here is a link to the Legislature’s web site if you want to find your senator’s contact information.

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/

Here is a link to LB 283.

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/bills/view_bill.php?DocumentID=37279

On Thursday, the Natural Resources Committee heard LR 294, the resolution developed through research and advocacy by students from Prairie Hill Learning Center. LR 294 reviews various climate-related findings and acknowledges the existence of an anthropogenic climate and ecological crisis. The students who put together the resolution provided stellar testimony. They were supported by a wide variety of individuals and organizations; 39 people testified in support of the resolution and the committee received more than 100 letters and emails in support.

Even though a resolution is mostly symbolic, it would be great if LR 294 were adopted this session, since climate change is rarely discussed by members of the Legislature, and it would be significant if they acknowledged the role of humans in causing it. Please contact the members of the Natural Resources Committee and ask them to advance LR 294 for consideration by the entire Legislature.

Natural Resources Committee Members:
Sen. Dan Hughes, Chairperson: (402) 471-2805, dhughes@leg.ne.gov
Sen. Joni Albrecht: (402) 471-2716, jalbrecht@leg.ne.gov
Sen. Bruce Bostelman: (402) 471-2719, bbostelman@leg.ne.gov
Sen. Suzanne Geist: (402) 471-2731, sgeist@leg.ne.gov
Sen. Tim Gragert: (402) 471-2801, tgragert@leg.ne.gov
Sen. Steve Halloran: (402) 471-2712, shalloran@leg.ne.gov
Sen. Mike Moser: (402) 471-2715, mmoser@leg.ne.gov
Sen. Dan Quick: (402) 471-2617, dquick@leg.ne.gov

On Friday, the Lincoln Electric System (LES) board heard presentations on climate change and potential scenarios for a zero carbon future. Although this is in the preliminary stages, it is a significant step, since a few months ago we were being told that LES didn’t intend to set goals at all.

All three of this issues are areas where Nebraska IPL has devoted time, effort and resources, so it is heartening to see positive steps being taken. However, we understand these are beginning steps and it will require considerable effort to achieve the kinds of changes that are needed. Thank you for your support in helping us address the climate crisis.